Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Capacitively Coupled devices (Pixel detector)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I am new at COMSOL and I have been struggling to find how I can perform the simulation and extract the results that I need.

Problem:
I work at ATLAS/CERN and I need to simulate a appreciatively coupled pixel detector that we are studding.
Basically we have a pixel sensor glued to a readout chip.
You can imagine the pixel sensor as some copper pads isolated of each other by an insulator. Under these pads, on the other side of the glue, there is the pads of the readout chip.
If you think about an 3x3 matrix on both sensor and chip, I need to simulate how the charge, or voltage, changing in the middle sensor pixel will affect the other 9 pads in the readout chip.
Basically, a matrix of parallel plates capacitors and I need to check the cross capacitance.

Where I am:
I already have a complete 3D model of the detector (form SOLIDWORKS) and I already positioned everything in COMSOL (materials; terminals and ground, and etc...).
For that I am using the electric currents physics with a small-signal analysis, frequency domain study.
I am able to see the electric fields and potential.

Does anyone know how to extract the cross capacitance or a good reference material for that?
Attached there is a picture of the cross section of the device. It shows 1/4 of the chip if the octagonal pads of the sensor, on top, and the pads of the readout chip exposed on bottom.

Many thanks in advance.

7 Replies Last Post 27 apr 2016, 03:47 GMT-4
Sven Friedel COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 22 apr 2016, 08:32 GMT-4
Dear Mateus,