Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Material intersection with heating of hollow tube

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I have a model which contains a thin hollow tube with two walls. I heat material next to wall #1 and want to simulate thermal expansion deforming that side of the tube into contact with side #2. The model I've created does deform wall #1 with the application of heat, but the material does not stop at wall #2. The material from wall #1 continues through wall #2 without displacing wall #2. It is as if the contact and intersection of the material is not registered as a problem.

I've tried both leaving the tube as open space (without a domain) and defining the tube as a separate domain and filling it with air, but neither fixed this issue.

I'm new to COMSOL, and can't imagine that this problem is unique to me, but haven't been able to find a solution.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

3 Replies Last Post 31 ago 2016, 11:26 GMT-4
Nagi Elabbasi Facebook Reality Labs

Posted: 8 years ago 26 ago 2016, 10:37 GMT-4
Hi Nate,

You need to define contact interaction between the two walls. The contact algorithm will monitor the distance between the two surfaces and when they overlap a contact force will be internally applied to deform the two bodies until the overlap is eliminated.

Nagi Elabbasi
Veryst Engineering
Hi Nate, You need to define contact interaction between the two walls. The contact algorithm will monitor the distance between the two surfaces and when they overlap a contact force will be internally applied to deform the two bodies until the overlap is eliminated. Nagi Elabbasi Veryst Engineering

Posted: 8 years ago 28 ago 2016, 21:00 GMT-4
Hello Nagi,