Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

parallel plate transmission line input/characteristic impedance

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL and I'm trying to model an idealized parallel plate transmission line and determine it's characteristic impedance as well as calculate the input impedance.

In the emw package, I have modeled it as a slab of SiO2 that is w = 100 nm wide, d = 10 nm thick, and L = 20 um long. I then set the upper and lower surfaces (the two 100 nm by 20 um surfaces) to be Perfect Electrical conductors, and I enclosed the entire slab in a box of air, with Scattering Boundary Condition applied to all 6 of the external air surfaces. I then created two user-defined lumped ports (dimensions w x d), one on either end of the transmission line. On one port, I am applying 1 volt across the thickness of the line at f=30 THz (), with a reference impedance. The port at the far end of the line (my load) is set to the same dimensions and has an impedance of with the wave excitation turned off.

Using the dimensions of the SiO2 slab and a relative permittivity of 3.9, the parallel plate transmission line equations predict a characteristic impedance of . This is the quantity I'm interested in verifying in COMSOL, but there seems to be no way of directly determining it, so I instead use the lumped excitation port impedance (Global evaluation emw.Zport_1) to tell me the input impedance looking down the entire line. This value ends up being . I then use the length of the line, the above characteristic and load impedances, and the wavelength of my excitation to compute a theoretical input impedance of . Unfortunately, the two results clearly differ greatly.