Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modeling a time dependent signal in COMSOL ray acoustic physics

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to COMSOL. I would like to know weather it is possible to model a time dependent signal which is being emitted by a point source within COMSOL ray acoustic physics.

My simulation setup involves a simple room, where I have a point source somewhere on the floor and various recievers on the roof. Source will emit a chirp signal (a time dependent signal), where frequency is also a function of time.

I need to do a autocorrelation of the signal received at the receivers.

The problem that i am stuck with right now is, how to model this particular kind of signal in ray acoustics.

5 Replies Last Post 30 gen 2018, 02:06 GMT-5
Mads Herring Jensen COMSOL Employee

Posted: 6 years ago 16 gen 2018, 09:40 GMT-5

Dear Aishvarya

Ray tracing is not a field simulation method so in general you cannot talk about sending in a time signal. The method is also a high freuqency method valid as long as the wavelength is smaller than typical geometric dimensions in the model.

Ray tracing is used to calculate the impulse response of a room for different source and receiver positions. This is possible in comsol 5.3a using the new impulse response post processing capabilities. Once you know the impulse response you can export it. In another signal processing software you can do a convolution with your full time signal to get the signal as experienced at a listening position.

I beleive that most infomration about tansmission etc can be extracted knowing the impulse response.

For an example see: https://www.comsol.com/model/small-concert-hall-acoustics-20145

Best regards Mads