Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Current induced by a magnet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi.
I'm really new to COMSOL Multiphysics and I think I need some help.
I have a single turn coil and a permanent magnet, same radius and parallels, in 3D. I know that moving the coil, i can change the magnetic field in the coil, and so i can obtain an induced current. But I don't know how to do this in COMSOL.

Moving the magnet depends on "moving mesh" (I think); so I put my magnet in "Free Deformation". Moving the magnet, the magnetic field (ploted in a 3D slice) doesn't move...Why? What's wrong? Otherwise, putting air and magnet in that node, the MF plotted moves too, but my magnet change its geometry.

I read various threads looking for a hint without succes.

I can also change my system using a MF time dependent. In this way nothing moves. But how can I evaluate the magnetic flux (B) and obtain a voltage? ( V=-d flux(B)/dt ) How many B involves my coil? Between them there is about 2/3cm.

I think it's a simple problem, but i read here ( www.comsol.se/community/forums/general/thread/18617/ ) that maybe this problem can't be solved using COMSOL.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

MF

2 Replies Last Post 13 mag 2013, 12:02 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 25 ott 2011, 23:20 GMT-4
Hi everyone,

I'm facing some similar issues as well.

In my model, I have a permanent magnet (13.2 Tesla remanant flux density) moving back and forth and a fixed copper coil right next to it and I want to have the moving magnet induce a current and voltage into the fixed coil.