Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Relative Humidity

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi Comsol user,

I am a beginner Comsol user, and i plan to study more about this interesting software.

Now, i am involving in a project about modeling of environmental effects on concrete bridge. i plan to combine the solar radiation, ambient temperature, wind speed and relative humidity as environmental conditions in my model. I used 3D transient heat transfer to simulate this condition, but now i get a problem with "relative humidity' effect. I do not know how to put my relative humidity data in the model.

I used data of solar radiation as (Qo) in "heat flux"
I used data of ambient temperature as (Texternal) in "convective cooling1"
I used data of wind speed as (Uexternal) in "convective cooling 2"
I put data of ambient temperature and emissivity of concrete in "surface to ambient radiation"
Also, i used the thermal properties of concrete (density, thermal conductivity and specific heat) in 'heat tranfer in solid"

My question is, where i should put data of relative humidity in my model?
Would you please share your understanding about this.

I really appreciate and thank you for your consideration!

-Lia-

6 Replies Last Post 30 ago 2014, 09:42 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 29 nov 2011, 23:45 GMT-5
Hi Rumbayan,

How is the RH supposed to interact in your model?

Does it just affect the air properties? If yes, I think you just have to adjust the air properties (density, viscosity, etc.) in order to take account for humidity (humidity function of time and air properties function of humidity in a list of variables).