Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

FSI Problems

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL and currently have a time dependent FSI model with numerous problems. The model is that of a fluid flow over an elastic material that should (hopefully) deform similar to the example 361 with different geometry. I used this example model for the basis of my model and am now having problem changing some of the values.

I am not able to reduce the youngs modulus of my model from 1e5 to 2e4 or even 9e4. When
doing this I recieve complaints that the non linear solver did not converge.

I also can not put in a simple equation for the velocity of u=a*t where u is the velocity
of the flow, a is an acceloration. When entering this into my model I get an error that
COMSOL could not find consistent initial values. I can get the model to run, however, if
I change the velocity equation to that given in example 361 on the website for u_in.

I have also tried automatic remeshing as I am using COMSOL 4.2, however, I coould not get
this to work either as there is NO dynamic help on this. I have also tried remeshing by
hand when the model experiences a poor mesh quality but then obtained errors about
inconsistancies in the stiffness matrix.

I will be greatful for the help

Kelly

4 Replies Last Post 20 giu 2016, 03:13 GMT-4
Nagi Elabbasi Facebook Reality Labs

Posted: 1 decade ago 7 mar 2012, 00:19 GMT-5
Try using the Fully Coupled Solver instead of the Segregated Solver. It sometimes works better when the structure is soft. Also, for the inlet velocity consider a ramp function instead of v=a*t. If the function has zero initial velocities and accelerations the solver should be able to find consistent initial values.

Nagi Elabbasi
Veryst Engineering