Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

contact surface

Thanigaivelraja Mohandass

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to comsol . I want to design the shape of the contacts as structured in Relays. I tried with the shape given in our comsol but i couldn't, Will you help in this issue?I will be grateful to you . help me in these too by giving any ideas, suggestions, theory note or examples. Thanking you. Thanks in advance. Regards Thanigaivelraja Mohandass

2 Replies Last Post 14 lug 2021, 02:28 GMT-4
Sören Mechanical Simulations

Posted: 3 years ago 7 lug 2021, 06:50 GMT-4
Updated: 3 years ago 7 lug 2021, 07:05 GMT-4

Hi,

maybe you can give some more information about your problem. Best would be a simple example.

However, there is some nice information online. https://www.comsol.fi/support/knowledgebase/1102

Here are some basic information for contact problems... - Ramp you force up, especially in the beginning of the contact

• Within the Contact Pair definition, choose the stiffer part as the source!

• If the parts have a similar stiffness, set concave parts as source and convex parts as destination.

• The destination boundary of the contact pair must be meshed finer than the source boundary, by at least a factor of two!

• try the penalty method, if you have convergence problems (augmented Lagrangian method is more accurate, but has higher computational cost, and will require more fine-tuning to converge.)

BR