Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Sphere-Sphere Forces

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello. Firstly, greetings to everyone, I am new here.

So, I am trying to build a model based on this article:
www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&ved=0CCoQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.victoria.ac.nz%2Fscps%2Fabout%2Fstaff%2Fpdf%2FElectrostatic-calibration-of-spheresphere-forces.pdf&ei=jF19UIPEL9ORhQfbsYC4AQ&usg=AFQjCNHvsG40c8nlNlCR3yx7YKBfey-tXw&sig2=HC5XPGRvo0qippVGnfngLg

I am also new to electrostatic modeling, but I have some basic Comsol knowledge.

My model contains two copper spheres with potentials Va and Vb and a large sphere representing surrounding medium (vacuum). I have selected Force Calculation domain condition and I tried Electric Potential and Terminal boundary conditions on the spheres.

In the article, it is described: '' When Va=Vb the force is repulsive at all distances, otherwise the force becomes attractive when the approach is close enough. Attraction occurs between spheres both at positive potential because of mutual polarization: for spheres with equal radii, the sphere at lower potential obtains a negatively charged region neighbouring the other sphere.''

I tried many different settings and I can't seem to get the described result, especially the reversal of the force direction. Am I missing something fundamental or just any detail? Is this a phenomenon that can be modeled using Comsol?

Regards,
Tomi

7 Replies Last Post 5 nov 2012, 05:23 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 16 ott 2012, 12:21 GMT-4
Hello, Tomo