Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electromagnet modeling in 3D BH curve&relative permeability

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,
at start let me say I am new in Comsol. I am using v 4.0a AC/DC Magnetic Fields. What I am trying to model is type of a magnetic brake. It`s geometry is very similar to plain electromagnet, consisting out of single cylindrical coil and a single (or mere) solid cylindrical iron (or other materials) solenoid. I have successfully modeled this geometry, defined all parameters and got results in 3D Plot Group 2/Slice 1/Arrow Volume 1/ etc. See attachment.
The thing that troubles me is how to define VARIABLE RELATIVE PERMEABILITY as a B-H curve function. i have modeled this geometry entering a number in relative permeability field but that is not want I want. I want to enter a r. permeability as a B&H curve function for specific material. I have data for B-H curves for materials of interest. I tried to type mu0*(normB/normH) as a equation in material`s relative permeability field and Comsol accepted this but I still do not see how or where to define B-H curve.
The main reason for doing this, correct me if I am wrong, is that I think I should enter relative permeability as a function not as a fixed number in case if I decide to make a solenoid out of two very different materials.
I know I haven`t presented my situation as best as it should, but I think You get the picture.
So, to summarize, should I enter relative permeability for certain material as a fixed number of as a B-H curve function and if so, how to do it?
Thank You all.

7 Replies Last Post 20 mar 2013, 08:21 GMT-4
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Aleksandar Poznic