Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Harmonic Load

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey,

I'm new to COMSOL and I have a few questions about it.

I'd like to do a Frequency Response Analysis of a structure with a harmonic load ''shaking'' it with a pre-determined force and frequency , in which I can change it.

- How can I set a point in my structure to receive such a force.
- How can I set this force to act like a 'shaker' in a frequency

Thanks for your help.

Att.

Victor Soares

11 Replies Last Post 22 gen 2014, 10:29 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 13 mar 2013, 10:56 GMT-4
Hi

1) first of all you should NOT use a "point" except in 1D as this will give you a singularity and poor values. Use rather a boundary (surface in 3D edge in 2D) of finite length (> 2-3 mesh elements per side) you can cut it out on the boundary or use a Gaussian shaping function.

2) apply a boundary load (with amplitude versus frequency from an interpolation table or an equation) and a frequency domain solver, this will interpret ALL boundary loads as harmonic amplitudes, and define your frequency range() in the solver settings

Note by applying a boundary force you do not change the eigenfrequency as you do not add any true local mass to the system. But if you intend to model a shaker applying a force via some extra connection, the mass of this connection could interfere with your structure modal shapes

--
Good luck
Ivar