Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Singular matrix error

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to Comsol. I have been trying to simulate flow over NACA4412 airfoil. I have been using circular domain.
My boundary conditions are 1. no slip on the airfoil surfaces 2. inlet velocity - 25 m/s and 3. outlet .
Every time I try to compute it says Singular matrix error, there are equations giving Nan/Inf in the matrix rows.I have attached the mph file.
Please help.

Thanks

4 Replies Last Post 26 mar 2013, 12:54 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 26 mar 2013, 05:40 GMT-4
Hi

use rather a rectangle around your foil and 5-10x the size is enough, then inlet to the left, outlet to the right, and use "symmetry BC" for the upper and lower walls, or use open boundaries

Not sure what is wrong, I needed to remove your SPF physics and reload and redefine it, in my 4.3a to get it to solve, I can then use the default physics controlled mesh, while in your original model that one failed (no boundary mesh)

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi use rather a rectangle around your foil and 5-10x the size is enough, then inlet to the left, outlet to the right, and use "symmetry BC" for the upper and lower walls, or use open boundaries Not sure what is wrong, I needed to remove your SPF physics and reload and redefine it, in my 4.3a to get it to solve, I can then use the default physics controlled mesh, while in your original model that one failed (no boundary mesh) -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 26 mar 2013, 05:53 GMT-4
I have tried with rectangular domain also. Every time I use the no- slip boundary conditon I get the same singular matrix error.