Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Cantilever Strain at Resonance Frequencies

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to Comsol and am trying to simulate strain in various structures at their eigenfrequencies. I have no problem finding the eigenfrequencies, but the amplitude in the eigenfrequency study is taken to be around a meter when the cantilever or structure is on the micrometer scale. Because of this amplitude I can't use the eigenfrequency study to find strain in different resonating structures. If I could fix the total energy of the system to limit amplitudes that would be ideal.

Is there a way to limit the energy in the eigenfrequency study so that I can limit the amplitude of oscillation and have the same energys for higher order resonant frequencies? If not, how can I simulate the max strain in a cantilever or any structure vibrating at its resonant frequencies?

Thanks,
Dustin Bigham

8 Replies Last Post 1 feb 2016, 01:21 GMT-5
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago 12 giu 2013, 05:38 GMT-4
Hi,

The magnitude of an eigenmode is arbitrary by definition.

It is only when doing a forced response analysis including loads that amplitudes can be computed.

Regards,
Henrik
Hi, The magnitude of an eigenmode is arbitrary by definition. It is only when doing a forced response analysis including loads that amplitudes can be computed. Regards, Henrik

Posted: 1 decade ago 12 giu 2013, 06:20 GMT-4
Hi,

I've tried applying a displacement of 1[um]*sin(2*pi*freq*t) to the free end of the diamond cantilever (200um x 10um x .3um, fixed at one end), where freq is the 2nd order frequency, and the simulation has been running for a week and is only at 34% progress... Is this the correct thing to do to simulate the 2nd order mode at 1um amplitude?