Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Time dependent boundary

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,
I have flow through a cylinder, and want the inlet velocity to be periodic [ u(r,t) ]. Im new to comsol and havent been able to find an answer to this.

Thanks in advance for any help!.

10 Replies Last Post 2 lug 2013, 03:31 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 24 giu 2013, 11:07 GMT-4
Hi Jonathan,

I use the analytic function under definitions for that.
I needed a pulse and solve it with a rectangle (rect1) under definitions and an analytic function:

Analytic function name: an1
Expression: mod1.rect1(mod(t,period1))
argument: t
and fill in at your inlet velocity: "value" *an1(t[1/s])
I hope this will help you.

Good luck,

--
Barend
Hi Jonathan, I use the analytic function under definitions for that. I needed a pulse and solve it with a rectangle (rect1) under definitions and an analytic function: Analytic function name: an1 Expression: mod1.rect1(mod(t,period1)) argument: t and fill in at your inlet velocity: "value" *an1(t[1/s]) I hope this will help you. Good luck, -- Barend

Posted: 1 decade ago 24 giu 2013, 11:18 GMT-4
Thanks for your response.

One question, where do you define the "period1" variable?
Thanks for your response. One question, where do you define the "period1" variable?

Posted: 1 decade ago 24 giu 2013, 11:24 GMT-4
you are welcome,
I define it in the parameters under Global definitions, but you can also fill in the value of your period instead of periond1.

--
Barend
you are welcome, I define it in the parameters under Global definitions, but you can also fill in the value of your period instead of periond1. -- Barend

Posted: 1 decade ago 24 giu 2013, 11:36 GMT-4