Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Displaying simulation results as raw as possible

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello there,

I am quite new in using and COMSOL and I was wondering why - when displaying a component of the current density - each element (tetrahedron) is displayed not with a single color but rather with a colored gradient even if smoothing is turned off. As far as I understand quantities such as the current density should be defined for an individual element rather than its belonging nodal points. If this is correct then how can I assign just one value (color) to this element?

Thanks in advance,
Kristoffer

7 Replies Last Post 8 ott 2013, 12:23 GMT-4
Sven Friedel COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago 8 ott 2013, 01:52 GMT-4
Hi Kristoffer,

several reasons contribute here:

1) The standard dicretization of say the elctric current interface is quadratic, hence the current density varies within one element still linearly. (remedy: change the discretization by Options > Preferences > Show > Discretization. It will appear in the settings window of the electtric currents interface.)

2) The smoothing of the visualization adds extra postprocessing elements discretization and smoothing (remedy: In the surface plot > Quality set resolution to "no refinement" and smoothing to "none".

See my example attached.

Best regards from Zurich
Sven