Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

heating a block of material by a moving laser

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner at COMSOL, so probably my question is quite stupid to the frequent users of COMSOL.

I want to simulate a laser hardening process. At this time only the temperature field (not yet the phase thansformations etc.). Therefore I want to simulate a block of material (160 mm long, 40 mm wide, 8 mm high), and a laser power of 450W, with a spotsize of 2.7 mm, moving at a speed of 100 mm/min.
The laser is comming out of a fiber thus with a tophat profile (not gaussian).

I started from the laser heating tutorial (silicon wafer).

I tried to make instead of the gaussian profile as in the tutorial, a top hat distribution. I created a rectangular function, with limits -r_spot/2 and +r_spot/2. The analytic function used for the power distribution is than: p_laser*rect1(x)*rect1(y)
First problem I have: this is not a top hat profile!
www.holoor.co.il/images/image1.jpg
Left: the gaussian profile, right upper image: what I have, right lower image: what I want...
So the analytic function should be different, using a circular formula. Any idea how to do this?

For the heat transfer in solids (ht), I have added the translational motion, with v_feed in x direction.

Attached you can find the model.
I have 2 problems: to small temperature differences, and no moving laser source...
Can anyone help me out please?

Best regards,

Jan

10 Replies Last Post 6 dic 2016, 18:35 GMT-5

Posted: 10 years ago 11 ago 2014, 11:02 GMT-4
I did another test:
-I removed the rectangle and used the gaussian pulse (suppose a gaussian beam instead of the wanted tophat), as in the example. Change the expression for the analytic component into:
p_laser*gp(x-v_feed*t)*gp(y) , with gp1: the gaussian pulse.