Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to apply AC voltage to this model, total newbie to comsol

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi!
I am student in electrical engineering and this is this second time I am using comsol in my life.
I have sweared and tried to kill my comp, but I have mange to do most questions my teacher has asked me to do.

The only introduction I got to comsol was three papers "basic stuff".

My teacher gave us two model files, one for frequency sweep and other one is for time domian for a High voltage divider.

Now I get stuck one question. What is the maximum applied AC (50 Hz) voltage you can have so dont exceed 2.5 kV/mm (arc length).

I know that I have to get into cross-section-plott parameters, and line extrusion, electrical field z component.
What I don't understand is how you apply an AC voltage?

Thanks in advanced
John

1 Reply Last Post 18 apr 2010, 16:53 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago 18 apr 2010, 16:53 GMT-4
Hi

well if you have only got a few hours of Comsoling and want to do such nice examples I can well understand some frustration, COMSOL is very powerfull, but that means also quite some conventions and tricks that require time to get used to, even in only one physics.

First, I would say that whatever you try to do in FEM you should have first a good clue of how it's supposed to behaive by analytical simple analysis. FEM calucations will give you the details, but you MUST always check the results against a global qualitative and quantitative response obtained by other means. It's so easy to get something wrong.