Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

2D Rotating electrical machine, calculating torque

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello all

I'm studying a machine with permanent magnets in the stator and a solid iron rotor(no coils).
i already have the magnetic field, is there a way to extract the torque felt by the rotor?

Best regards
José Silva

5 Replies Last Post 11 ott 2014, 10:26 GMT-4

Posted: 10 years ago 9 ott 2014, 13:22 GMT-4
I am not sure how you can have a rotating machine with permanent magnets at the stator and no winding at the rotor... Or maybe I misunderstood your description of the system.

COMSOL allows you calculate the forces and torque on components when you set up the problem. Add a "force calculation" in the physics (Magnetic Fields) tree and select the components on which you need the forces/torque calculated. The results are available as global variables and displayed during post-processing (Derived Values).

For forces on iron, the method used should be based on virtual work. If you want to implement the torque calculation yourself, you can integrate a function based on Maxwell's tensor over a section of the air gap. You should be able to find plenty of papers describing how to do it.

Hope it helps.
Best,
Philippe