Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Exciting a meta-surface with a point source

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there,

I'm completely new to COMSOL, so I still struggle with it a lot. Bear with me! I've already looked in the existing discussions but found nothing helpful.

What I want to do is model the power flow over a metal-dielectric patterned surface (it's patterned with complimentary split ring resonators or CSRRs). I've already produced a model that solves the eigenmodes of the surface using floquet boundary conditions, which produces the correct result for what the resonant frequency of the material should be.

However, I need to model what the power flow looks like on this surface. Ideally, what I want to do is excite the surface with a point source electric field. But how do I do that?

I should mention, if I don't use periodic boundary conditions, I think I'm going to struggle computationally. The CSRRs I'm working with are spaced along a 2mm square pitch and the materials I'm investigating are A3-sized surfaces covered with these. So I sure couldn't model the whole material.

Any help at all is immensely appreciated.

2 Replies Last Post 15 gen 2015, 19:15 GMT-5
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 years ago 6 gen 2015, 16:45 GMT-5
Emily,

a point source is mostly not a good approach because it creates a singularity. In the RF module, you could try to connect a lumped port to some kind of feed electrode on your structure. Electric and magnetic point dipoles are also available. They don't create singularities.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com