Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

undefined pressure variable error

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi!

I am new to comsol and I created this toy model to play with in order to get a better understanding.
The model intends to simulate the rizing air in a cylinder. The cylinder has an inner and outer radius. Between these two radiuses the cylinder is made of steel held at a fixed high temperature. The air is supposed to rize from the bottom where it is room temperature. I have modeled gravity in the z direction using a Volume Force. Running the model I get the following error

Undefined variable.
- Variable: pA
- Geometry: geom1
- Domain: 2
Failed to evaluate variable.
- Variable: comp1.mat1.def.rho
- Defined as: ((unit_kg_cf*comp1.mat1.def.rho((pA/unit_Pa_cf),(comp1.T/unit_K_cf)))/(unit_m_cf^3))

So it does not seem to recognize the pressure variable which the density of air depends on. The model is attached.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Also if other obvious newbie design flaws are spotted :)
Thanks!

4 Replies Last Post 4 mar 2015, 18:03 GMT-5
Luke Gritter Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 years ago 2 mar 2015, 14:07 GMT-5
Lukas,

Instead of trying to call the density function from the material, just use the predefined variable spf.rho in the volume force expression. This will get rid of the error.

Other items:

1) You have not coupled the fluid flow and heat transfer physics. The quickest way to do this is to right-click on the Multiphysics node and select "Non-Isothermal Flow".

2) You have not defined the temperature at the bottom, so the model is currently isothermal.

3) Depending on what you are trying to model, the fluid flow boundary conditions may be incorrect. If you want the flow to pass through the tube, then you will need an outlet boundary condition at the top.