Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to continue matlab code if Comsol solver did not converge?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am a student in engineer and I have to use comsol for my thesis.
To optimize the results of the model I build, I use a genetic algorithm I made in matlab.
I use Comsol 4.4 and matlab R2015a. LiveLink Comsol with Matlab too.

Here is a small description of my model :
- 1D model
- heat transfer in solids, heat flux and radiation
- Time dependent
- heat capacity and thermal conductivity are user defined and function of the temperature
- geometry : interval of 15mm

How work the algorithm for each iteration :
- It loads my model (mphload(...))
- It choose a value for the thermal conductivity (function of temerature) determined by the algorithm
- It puts the value in my model (model.param.set(...))
- It runs the solver (model.sol('sol1').runAll)
- It compares comsol results with experimental data (T = mpheval(...))
- It try again with another value for the thermal conductivity

After a lot of trial, my algorithm works good but sometimes I have an error saying "Nonlinear solver did not converge" and it returns an error in matlab and stop my algorithm.
To avoid this problem, I search a way to say T = 0 if the solver did not converge. So, my algorithm can continue and I can expect a result at the end.
I hope someone has a solution because when it runs, I can just expect that there will allways be a solution that converge...

You can find a part of the code here :
model = mphload('TestCom.mph'); % load model

% Determination of the thickness
model.geom('geom1').feature('i1').set('p2',th);
model.geom('geom1').run;