Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Inflow heat flux issue

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone,

It looks like I'm having a little issue while using the inflow heat flux condition in the heat transfer module.
I'm studying a boiler where a burner in the middle is producing 24kW. Then the heat is transferred by air to a series of spirals all around with cooling water flowing through.
My problem is the following: because of the computational cost, I'm simulating only a 15 degrees slice of the boiler. Also, I'm not simulating the combustion inside the burner. My domain is limited by the outer surface of the burner, and there I apply an inlet condition to the air flow and an inflow heat flux condition (with a total heat of 24kW/360° * 15° = 1kW).
Now the problem is that this simulation is not giving the expected results.
First of all, I decided to simulate only the heat transfer physics. In this case I would expect a very high temperature on the surface of the burner and a lower temperature on the surfaces of the spiral. Instead, I get a solution where the temperature is constant and equal to the initial values everywhere (so it looks like the solver doesn't see the inflow heat flux).
Then when I try to simulate also the air flow physics, it doesn't work as it finds some roots of negative numbers.

I really don't know how to solve this issue, as my problem seems to be well-posed, with all the right boundary conditions and so on.

Every suggestion you may provide would be very important.

Thanks,

- Davide

2 Replies Last Post 4 mag 2015, 04:58 GMT-4

Posted: 9 years ago 4 mag 2015, 04:20 GMT-4
Also, does anyone know what the variable "spf.vhNS_lin" is?