Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Help on level set method

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear Friend:

I'm just starting to learn modeling using COMSOL. My research now involves modeling of liquid/gas two phase flow. So I started with this water droplet formation from a capillary downward. But so far I can not get it converged. Can anyone who is familiar with this area help me take a look at this problem and hopefully give me some advice?

Thank you very much,
Regards,
Peng

5 Replies Last Post 4 nov 2009, 09:56 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 16 ott 2009, 17:36 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 30 ott 2009, 06:09 GMT-4
How do you reinitialize at every time step? Isn't this a process being done only at the very beginning? I am trying to do a two-phase phase field case .. but that doesn't converge either.
How do you reinitialize at every time step? Isn't this a process being done only at the very beginning? I am trying to do a two-phase phase field case .. but that doesn't converge either.

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 1 nov 2009, 03:56 GMT-5
Hi

I have understood (but I have only followed one training course , hav'nt worked on these solutions extensively) that these kind of problems needs first an "initialisation phase" (short time step) to set up correctly the physics, then you turn on longer time steps analysis.

In your model there is only the initialisation

You can automatise this in the Solver Manager Sequence tab, by first saving a "Transient Initialisation" sequence for a short start up time, save the solution, and then follow by a standard "transient" calculation, but based on the saved values (set up your Solver Parameters correctly for this second phase).