Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Exporting data while solving

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am relatively new to COMSOL. Is there anyway to write the data generated up to a point while solving into an external file like excel or .txt which can be opened in COMSOL at a later point of time?
I have come across discussions to export data while solving in case of a parametric sweep, but nothing to go on in terms of writing data generated as it is being solved.
This way, instead of letting the data go as a waste, at least a partial solution can be retained.

Thank you.

5 Replies Last Post 23 ago 2016, 22:38 GMT-4

Posted: 8 years ago 29 apr 2016, 17:14 GMT-4
You can define a domain probe point in definitions node which is evaluated a chosen variable in table while solving. The variable at the chosen point is evaluated in table and plotted in a graph as function of time.
You can define a domain probe point in definitions node which is evaluated a chosen variable in table while solving. The variable at the chosen point is evaluated in table and plotted in a graph as function of time.

Posted: 8 years ago 29 apr 2016, 18:07 GMT-4

Thank you very much.
So, this would essentially plot the variable we need while the solver is still working in addition to the default convergence plots of the segregated groups.
Is there any way to write this data to an external file outside COMSOL like excel or txt to local disk while the solver is running at regular intervals so that it can be accessed even if it crashes or becomes unresponsive? Basically like creating a back up recovery disc to your windows data so that you won't loose it if your system runs into trouble.

- Jathin