Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Underground Cable Joule Heating

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to Comsol and am doing an underground sea cable simulation. First with a bipolar cable system (two transmission lines, +-320 kV).
I have the geometry ready and activated the "electric currents" as well as the "heat transfer in solids" mode.

My problem is that I do not understand how to get the current through the cables in 2D and how to do the grounding of the cables. Also I need an infinite boundary for the surrounding sediment or make it an infinite domain, that is another point ( I think the open boundary that I chose is not the rifght solution).

The goal is to model the heat dissipation by the cable because of heat losses (joule heating) in a transient simulation (load profile) and the heat transfer through the sediment.
I tried to attach my file, but only got 'file extension error' message there. :-(.
I can try again later to upload it.

I would be delighted to hear some tips of how to do this. Thanks very much and happy easter!

Madlen

8 Replies Last Post 24 apr 2017, 11:44 GMT-4
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 7 years ago 14 apr 2017, 10:09 GMT-4
This blog on how to model heating in cables may be useful to you:
www.comsol.com/blogs/how-to-model-the-electromagnetic-heating-of-underground-cables/
Best,
Jeff
This blog on how to model heating in cables may be useful to you: https://www.comsol.com/blogs/how-to-model-the-electromagnetic-heating-of-underground-cables/ Best, Jeff

Posted: 7 years ago 21 apr 2017, 09:26 GMT-4
Unfortunately this is about AC modeling, where it is all about induction, eddy currents, magnetic fields and complicated stuff I don't understand yet. ;-)

Trying to do a simpler DC cable first.

Maybe a shorter question now: