Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Assigning linear increasing Potential to wire array

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm completely new to Comsol, so maybe my problem might look simple to you, but I couldn't find a solution on my own yet. So I hope for your help.

I'm trying to build up a field-cage with an array of 100 wires and i want to assign a linear increasing potential to the wires.

In the attached file I have an example-geometry, simplified by using only 6 wires for the vertical wire-array. I manually created 6 potentials and assigned them, manually too, to these wires. (top and bottom array are no problem, as those are on the same potential)

Unfortunatly, I need about 100 wires in my real geometry.
Do I really have to create 100 Potentials and manually apply them to the wires? Or is there a smarter way, something similar to creating the wires using an array...

Thanks in advance for any help

4 Replies Last Post 25 giu 2015, 17:18 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 1 nov 2011, 04:47 GMT-4
Hi

to make your model simpler you could replace the coils by "points" (use range() definitions for X&Y to make multiple points in one call).

Then I would use more air around to avoid lateral surface effects, except if you have a conducting box surrounding everything.

To avoid making 100 points and selecting them all, try to use symmetry, you should be able to reduce to the half, no ?

Its always the same, either you use brute force, systematically, and take some time to solve, or you think more, with the risk that you oversimplify and get something wrong because you have made a wrong assumption

--