Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to set a material's density is anisotropic ?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hi, I'm new in comsol
I'm trying to define a material ,but its density is anisotropic , I don't know how to do with it.
could anybody please help me with this?

11 Replies Last Post 20 gen 2015, 01:47 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 26 mar 2012, 11:00 GMT-4
What do you mean with density anisotropic?
Does it vary with location, thickness, ...
What do you mean with density anisotropic? Does it vary with location, thickness, ...

Posted: 1 decade ago 26 mar 2012, 11:42 GMT-4
Normally you talk about anisotropy in case directions are involved. E.g. anisotropic Youngs Modulus. This could be expressed by matrices or tensors.
You probably mean non-uniform density. In this case you need to find a function that describes the density, probably as a function of location in space, find a suitable coordinate system and use this function as your expression for the density in the domain of interest.

Cheers
Edgar
Normally you talk about anisotropy in case directions are involved. E.g. anisotropic Youngs Modulus. This could be expressed by matrices or tensors. You probably mean non-uniform density. In this case you need to find a function that describes the density, probably as a function of location in space, find a suitable coordinate system and use this function as your expression for the density in the domain of interest. Cheers Edgar

Posted: 1 decade ago 27 mar 2012, 05:17 GMT-4
it means that the material in different direction has different density
it means that the material in different direction has different density

Posted: 1 decade ago 27 mar 2012, 05:20 GMT-4