Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Laminar flow – how to get force acting on outlet?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all, I’m new to physics simulation and I’m trying out comsol to see if I can learn a little about this.

I wanted to start with something I thought would be a really simple problem, but now have a problem figuring out how to get the force acting on my objects.

1. I created a 2 dimensional model with laminar flow and stationary study.
  2. Under Component 1 I created a first circle c1, radius 1000 mm with center at x y coordinate 0,0
  3. Then I created two small circles with radius 10 mm; c2 at coordinate -50,0 and c3 at coordinate 50,0
  4. I added a Difference operation to subtract c2 and c3 from the area of c1, so now I had a large circular area with two small holes in it on each side of it’s center.
  5. I added hydrogen to materials.
  6. Under laminar flow I added an inlet and selected the 4 boundaries of c1 and a velocity of 1 m/s.
  7. I added an outlet and selected the 8 boundaries of c2 and c3 and a pressure of 1 Pa.
  8. Under study 1 I had to set Stationary Solver 1 to Linear to get rid of convergence problems.

When the above is computed I get a velocity field that looks like what I expected, and a pressure field that looks like it could be at least close to correct. Wow, so far so good!

Now I wanted to study the net force (the resultant) acting on the outlet c2. So I added an Integral to Results and set the dataset to sol1 and method to Summation over nodes. I set Integral 1 Selection to the 4 boundaries of c2.