Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Virtual Electrical Connection

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Is it possible to connect two surfaces/boundaries virtually in COMSOL? I am studying joule heating as well as magnetic analysis of copper bars, and drawing interconnection wires/geometry for electrical connection is appearing to be difficult with the component under consideration. Is there a way I can choose two surfaces/boundaries and speciy that there is a zero electrical voltage difference in these? This in essence would provide a continous path of current in between two selected surfaces.

As an example, I am trying to connect (3) and (4) which are electrically isolated. Refer to the attachment.

Many thanks,

4 Replies Last Post 24 lug 2021, 18:35 GMT-4
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 3 years ago 22 lug 2021, 21:07 GMT-4

When applying the Terminal or Potential boundary conditions you can select multiple boundaries.

When applying the Terminal or Potential boundary conditions you can select multiple boundaries.

Posted: 3 years ago 23 lug 2021, 12:02 GMT-4

Thank you for suggestions, however, these boundaries cannot be applied inside the air domain. I have been trying to perform magentic analysis with box drawn to act as an air domain, and I was unable to connect two conductors inside the air box using the above suggested boundaries.

Thank you for suggestions, however, these boundaries cannot be applied inside the air domain. I have been trying to perform magentic analysis with box drawn to act as an air domain, and I was unable to connect two conductors inside the air box using the above suggested boundaries.

Posted: 3 years ago 23 lug 2021, 12:41 GMT-4