Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Failed to evaluate variable: freq

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi COMSOL Users,

I'm new to using the v4.x series of COMSOL, so perhaps I've missed something simple, but I get an error when trying to plot body volume force variables. The error message states:
"Cannot evaluate expression.
Failed to evaluate variable.
- Variable: freq
- Geometry: 1
- Domain: 1
Failed to evaluate variable.
- Variable: mod1.acpr.freq
- Defined as: freq
..."
and continues down to mod1.spf.Fx which I am trying to plot (see attached image).

I have used the Pressure Acoustics module along with the Laminar Flow module. I set the solver to first solve Pressure Acoustics in the frequency domain (Step 1), then a combination of parameters from Pressure Acoustics is used to calculate body forces in the Laminar Flow module. Stationary analysis is used to solve for the Laminar Flow physics (Step 2).

Has anyone had this problem before? Is there an easy way to fix this problem?

Thanks in advance,
Ian

8 Replies Last Post 27 feb 2016, 16:41 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 21 dic 2012, 00:48 GMT-5
Hi

Have you defined the frequency in the first tab in the frequency solver node ? I suspect your field is blank

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi Have you defined the frequency in the first tab in the frequency solver node ? I suspect your field is blank -- Good luck Ivar

Sergei Yushanov Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 21 dic 2012, 08:22 GMT-5
Ian,

Try the following:

Under Global Definitions>Parameters, define variable “freq” and assign the same numerical value of the frequency you are using in the Study Step.
Update the model and plot your results again.

Regards,
Sergei