Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Imported SolidWorks part doesn't behave correctly

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm relatively new to COMSOL but I haven't had much luck finding a solution.
I had an assembly in SolidWorks made of 3 parts. I created a new SolidWorks part file which had the 3 parts mated together correctly and saved it. I imported that SolidWorks part into COMSOL. COMSOL recognized it as having 3 domains which I assigned different material properties to. I fixed the bottom and applied a load on the top. When I ran a tetrahedral static solid model test, the stress was what I expected for the top layer but it appears that it did not make it to the remaining layers. The stress on one side of the interface is a magnitude different than the other side, right at the interface. I attached a picture of this.

The nodes seem to align at the interface too. Even when I used the same mesh size for the entire model, I had the same issue. Does anyone have suggestions on a solution? I also attached my setup.
I can provide more detail and pictures if needed.

Thanks,
Jeremy

9 Replies Last Post 4 mar 2013, 12:27 GMT-5
Josh Thomas Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 feb 2013, 09:21 GMT-5
Jeremy-

Interesting issue...

Would you be able to upload your mph file? To save space you can click Edit>Clear Meshes and Edit>Clear Solutions before uploading.

Regards,
Josh Thomas
AltaSim Technologies
Jeremy- Interesting issue... Would you be able to upload your mph file? To save space you can click Edit>Clear Meshes and Edit>Clear Solutions before uploading. Regards, Josh Thomas AltaSim Technologies

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 feb 2013, 16:47 GMT-5