Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

vector form variables in PDE

Waranatha Abeygunasekara

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

What is the procedure to specify a dependent variable in PDE interface to be a vector rather than a scalar? In more specific terms, I'm trying to implement the vector wave equation in 3D using the coefficient form PDE. I need to define the dependent variable (u) to be the vector form electric field.
I'm new to the comsol environment and still haven't found this method in the user guide.

Thanks,
Waranatha.

3 Replies Last Post 1 apr 2013, 14:37 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 31 mar 2013, 13:17 GMT-4
Hi

COMSOl calcualtes with scalars, for vectores ou need to define triplets, so when using PDE math nodes, you must add 3 local scalar variables and not just one (vector)

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi COMSOl calcualtes with scalars, for vectores ou need to define triplets, so when using PDE math nodes, you must add 3 local scalar variables and not just one (vector) -- Good luck Ivar

Waranatha Abeygunasekara

Posted: 1 decade ago 1 apr 2013, 04:07 GMT-4
Hi Ivar,

Thanks for the information. You have saved me a lot of time, as I was so sure that vector form should be available with comsol, and was trying hard to locate it in the documentation. I have few more questions on the same lines. consider an example where the vector is defined using the Cartesian coordinates and the 3 local scalars represent x,y,z components of the vector.
1. Does the orthogonality between each component need to be enforced manually?