Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Piezoelectric MEMS Energy Harvester

Rajasekaran Ganeshkumar

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I'm using COMSOL MEMS Module and trying to compute eigen frequency and frequency response of the MEMS energy harvester design. My design have non-linear cantilever clamped at both ends and proof mass at the center of the beam. The active piezoelectric layer is AlN material of thickness 400nm and other elastic material layers, electrodes are of around or less than 200nm thickness.

I facing difficulty in meshing these thin layers. I have tried swept, free triangular boundary layer meshes but ended up with errors and problems. Please help me and guide me as Im a beginner to COMSOL FEA.

Thanks a lot!

5 Replies Last Post 24 mar 2014, 04:04 GMT-4
Bjorn Bretz COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago 21 mar 2014, 10:49 GMT-4
Dear Rajasekaran,

This geometry needs to be partitioned into more domains to enable successful swept meshing. The partitioning is done by the Extrude operation in the attached model (saved in version 4.4).

Best regards,
Bjorn Bretz
Dear Rajasekaran, This geometry needs to be partitioned into more domains to enable successful swept meshing. The partitioning is done by the Extrude operation in the attached model (saved in version 4.4). Best regards, Bjorn Bretz

Posted: 1 decade ago 23 mar 2014, 23:12 GMT-4
Hi Bjorn Bretz