Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Problem with calculating the stiffness of a magnetic bearing, using the sensitivity physics interface

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

I am a student in electrical engineering, and I am very new with COMSOL multi physics. I have got this project where I am to design a magnetic bearing with permanent magnets. To do this, I want to make some simulations in COMSOL, so that I can investigate the force generated and the stiffnes of the bearing. At first I found this tutorial on the COMSOL website

www.comsol.com/model/axial-magnetic-bearing-using-permanent-magnets-14367,

The tutorial uses the 2D axisymmetri, and uses the "magnetic fields (mf) " physics to calculate the force on the bearing, and it uses the "sensitivity" physics, to calculate the stiffness, which is the differential of the force. It also uses the "deformed geometry" physics, but I am not sure why? Well, It all works, and everything is fine, but now I wanted to also see the force in the lateral axis of the magnetic bearing, and I found out that to do this, I had to make a full 3D model. So that is what I did.