Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Geometry, Meshing, CFD Fluid Flow, Extrusion, Open Curves, and Solids

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

First, I am completely new to such simulation, have never used Pro/E, Solid Works, etc.

Next, I am modeling turbulent fluid flow through a jet boat droop snoot and nozzle with proprietary geometry.

Initially, I only had "boundaries" since I extruded everything with closed curves. I had to do this because of the proprietary geometry in the nozzle. I must be able to select the internal surfaces and apply materials.

When I wanted to add water, I noticed that I needed an interior "solid." The problem is that a solid extrusion does not allow me to properly materialize my proprietary geometry in my nozzle. As such, I only extruded the droop snoot, which is prior to the nozzle, as a solid, selected the inner part, and materialized it as water. Also, I could select it as inlet.

Since my nozzle did not have a "solid" interior, I could not select it as an outlet. Also, I could not apply the material of water to the void volume of the nozzle.

To complicate matters, my meshing meshed the droop snoot interior, the boundary, which is metal, and the perimeter of my model geometry, but not the void volume of my nozzle. Also, there is a small cylindrical section between the droop snoot and the nozzle that was not extruded as a solid so the same problems with meshing and materializing inner volume with water applies to the cylinder as well.