Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric field norm - what is it?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

This may be a stupid question, but I am brand new to COMSOL so please be patient with me.

When I'm processing results, say plotting 2D surface plots, COMSOL provides a list of expressions it can evaluate. But how do I know what these are exactly? What, for example, is being plotted when I select emw.normE (electric field norm). Is that the electric field magnitude of the component normal to the surface? Or some 'normalised' electric field?

Is there somewhere I can view the equations for what is being plotted?

Any help appreciated.

5 Replies Last Post 28 ott 2016, 11:55 GMT-4
Mohammad Amin Nazirzadeh

Posted: 10 years ago 17 nov 2014, 09:32 GMT-5
Here norm means the amplitude of the electric field:

normE = sqrt(Ex ^ 2 + Ey ^ 2 + Ez ^ 2)

* This is the norm of E field matrix
Here norm means the amplitude of the electric field: normE = sqrt(Ex ^ 2 + Ey ^ 2 + Ez ^ 2) * This is the norm of E field matrix

Posted: 10 years ago 17 nov 2014, 09:37 GMT-5

Ok, thanks. Where did you find that information? Is it in the help somewhere?
[QUOTE] Here norm means the amplitude of the electric field: normE = sqrt(Ex ^ 2 + Ey ^ 2 + Ez ^ 2) * This is the norm of E field matrix [/QUOTE] Ok, thanks. Where did you find that information? Is it in the help somewhere?

Posted: 10 years ago 17 nov 2014, 12:26 GMT-5
This is not 100% accurate. This is a response from support about this question that I asked a couple years ago. Please note that the p.119 reference may not be 100% valid for the latest versions of the s/w.

The variable normE is defined by the expression
sqrt(realdot(Ex,Ex)+realdot(Ey,Ey)+realdot(Ez,Ez)), where the operator
realdot(a,b) treats complex numbers a and b as if they were real-valued