Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Laminar Counter-flow in Concentric Pipes

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello. I'm relatively new to COMSOL and I've been trying to model a simple counter-flow through concentric double-pipes. Currently, I have the model in a 2-D axisymmetric configuration and three domains: fluid, wall, fluid. I have water in both pipes and copper as the pipe wall. The outer pipe is flowing at a higher temperature than the inner pipe, and both are using water just to keep things simple. The outer pipe is supplied a constant temperature on it's surface.

I just learned that there is a new feature since version 4.3 where a domain is no longer needed to be created to define a thing wall. However, let's say I want to keep the wall. How would I handle the wall? Would I have to select another physics (Heat Transfer in Solids) along with Heat Transfer in Fluids? What options of boundary conditions can I apply to the wall and which physics?

Thank you. I appreciate your help.

6 Replies Last Post 17 dic 2014, 15:28 GMT-5
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 10 years ago 17 dic 2014, 08:33 GMT-5
Hello Van,
If your license includes either the CFD Module or the Heat Transfer Module (or both), there is a physics interface for Conjugate Heat Transfer that greatly simplifies setting up this sort of analyses - See screenshot and also www.comsol.com/products/specifications/heat-transfer/.
Best regards,
Jeff