Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Error evaluating variable

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am trying to model a heat transfer and mass diffusion process using the PDE module using the coefficient form and general form as function of "C" concentration and "T" temperature. However, keep getting the following error:

Failed to evaluate variable.
- Variable: u
- Geometry: 1
- Domain: 1

Failed to evaluate expression
- Expression: u
- Plot: surf1 (Surface)

I am rather new with COMSOL Multiphysics. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards.

4 Replies Last Post 17 apr 2015, 09:22 GMT-4

Posted: 9 years ago 13 apr 2015, 01:39 GMT-4
Hi

Your variables are C and T, there is no u. Look at the equations of your physics. Change the plotting variable.

Your global equations have variables vt and wt. What are they? I did not find them defined anywhere.

br
Lasse
Hi Your variables are C and T, there is no u. Look at the equations of your physics. Change the plotting variable. Your global equations have variables vt and wt. What are they? I did not find them defined anywhere. br Lasse

Posted: 9 years ago 14 apr 2015, 01:03 GMT-4

Hi,

I don't understand why it is looking for "u" if there is not "u" either. How do I change the plotting variable?

vt and wt are the accumulated heat and mass as function of time respectively.

Regards,
Ernesto

Hi

Your variables are C and T, there is no u. Look at the equations of your physics. Change the plotting variable.

Your global equations have variables vt and wt. What are they? I did not find them defined anywhere.

br
Lasse