Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modelling a cylindrical and ring magnet as well as finding the force between them.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm a student trying to learn Comsol, specifically how to model magnetic fields.

Currently I am trying to simulate the magnetic fields of a cylinder magnet with a ring magnet around it.

I am using the Magnetic Fields, No Currents module with a 2D axis symmetric geometry. I have the cylinder magnet and ring magnets defined as neodymium with a relative permeability of 1.05 and then used the magnetic flux conservation to define a remnant flux density of 1.48 and 1.32 [T] to the magnets respectively. I then define a world of air around that with a relative permeability of 1. I then define a very fine mesh and try to compute a stationary study, but can not get it to work.

Does anyone have any ideas?

I plan on then moving the ring magnet along the Z axis and compute the force between the two magnets.

Thanks ahead of time!

14 Replies Last Post 5 giu 2015, 06:29 GMT-4
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 years ago 24 apr 2015, 13:13 GMT-4
William,

you have to set Zero Magnetic Scalar Potential in one Point of the model to achieve an unambiguous solution.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
William, you have to set Zero Magnetic Scalar Potential in one Point of the model to achieve an unambiguous solution. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser emPhys Physical Technology http://www.emphys.com

Posted: 9 years ago 24 apr 2015, 14:04 GMT-4
Hello,

Thank you! That seems to get it working.