Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

breathing eigenmode of a 3D solid sphere

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello, I am a newbie of Comsol and I tried to start with a very simple model of finding fundamental breathing mode of a solid sphere, but got frustrated - it seemed that I was not able to find the breathing mode (or don't know how to identify). The way I did is following:

Structural Mechanics Module ->Solid, Stress-Strain -> Eigenfrequency analysis -> create a solid sphere of 1m -> set boundary constraint condition as Free -> Set Subdomains with default setting (E=2.0e11); v=0.33; a=1.2e-5; p=7850), Material model as isotropic; Coordinate system as global coordinate system; ->initialize mesh - Solve eigenfrequency -> that is.

I used Slice (predefined quantities=total displacement) to check all the frequencies found from 0-4000Hz, but were not able to find the breathing mode...

did I do anything wrong here? Help please

10 Replies Last Post 5 ott 2009, 20:51 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 set 2009, 09:38 GMT-4
Hi

I'm not sure how you define your "breahting" mode, but when I make a 1m radius, default material (steel) sphere, and ask to solve for the 24 first eigenmodes, I can see differet modes showing up
(I use "boundary" map with "deformed shape" on, and not "slice" mode).

Now as you have not attached/fixed your sphere the first 6 modes are 0, and then as you have a fully symmetric sphere your modes have a high degeneracy so in the "24" modes there are only a few fundamental different modes. (the "same" frequencies differ slightly depending on the mesh finess/symmetry you use).

So I suggest that you try again

Good luk
Ivar