Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

total surface displacement for simple beam structure

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Greetings,

I am new to comsol.
I am trying to design a simple rectangular beam structure (fixed-end-beam),
to evaluate its resonant frequency and total surface displacement.
I am getting the resonant frequency but I can't get the total surface displacement.
I am using solid mechanics as the physics and eigenfrequency as the study.

I have tried reading several information regarding my problem in this forum, but I still have difficulties to understand it.

I am hoping that somebody can help me.

Thank you so much.

2 Replies Last Post 8 lug 2015, 17:57 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 9 years ago 8 lug 2015, 02:30 GMT-4
Hi

Are you doing an eigenfrequency analysis ?
As this solver is there to get the (Eigen)frequencies, but the amplitudes are arbitrary by "design", depending on the normalisation used (RMS by default) there are many threads discussing this, try a search.
An amplitude can only be found in Stationary or Time dependent if you know the load you apply on a given boundary: force, moment or pressure ...
or if its for a resonant frequency, then you need to add the true damping (something tricky to know and somewhat to define) and then you do a Frequency Domain Sweep to get the maximum amplitude for a given damping.
But none (or too low) damping means amplitudes tending towards INF and that is too tough to solve even for COMSOL ;).

--
Good luck
Ivar