Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Applying AC current to Helmholtz coil

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey, I am new to COMSOL and have very basic questions, I hope you can help me. I am trying to measure the impedance of a pair of helmholtz coils at high frequencies (200 kHz), I followed the tutorial for the coils (br.comsol.com/model/magnetic-field-of-a-helmholtz-coil-15) but I don't know how to apply AC current to the coils, I guess I should work in the frequency domain, right? And how would I do to measure the impedance?

And just to make sure, when I apply the multi-turn coil domain it is a 1 layer coil, isn't it? Is it possible to build a multi-layer coil?

Thanks a lot

5 Replies Last Post 15 set 2015, 13:56 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 9 years ago 3 ago 2015, 14:39 GMT-4
Hi

you are right wen you select a frequency domain and give i.e. only one frequency such as 200[kHz] then you are studying/solving your model for one sinusoidal boundary flux frequency (a current in your case) of amplitude I0 or whatever scalar value you have chosen (check the doc and the theory on frequency domain solver).

The impedance is simply the ratio U[V]/(I[A]), note it will probably be complex ! and it will not work like that if you have I=0 for any reason.

You have several "coil" boundaries, you can define a domain i.e. of copper with a given section and call it a explicitly "single loop coil" of a conductor, but it's far better to use the built-in BC "single coil" or "multiple coil" as these have built-in lumped parameters to directly calculate impedance etc. check the ACDC doc it's al in there. For the multi-turn coil you have additional sub-nodes to even define how the different coils are winded, by layer or columns or ...

--
Good luck
Ivar