Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Time-dependent flow past a cylinder at Re=100

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new in Comsol! I am working on Comsol/4.0.
I got convergence in that case. However, even for long total time and short time step, my result is somehow far from numerical result.
For example, I got CD (Drag coefficient) about 1.05, while in numerical report, it is given about 1.34.

This is my set up detail:
Domain : 30*d from each side
Cylinder diameter(d) = 0.2 m
Laminar inflow with average velocity= 1m/s
zero pressure no viscous outflow
Symmetry boundary condition on top and bottom walls.

12 Replies Last Post 27 set 2010, 03:39 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 21 set 2010, 10:50 GMT-4
Hi

have you checked that your model is mesh independent ? and that you are using 100% the same physics hypothesis for the fluid

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi have you checked that your model is mesh independent ? and that you are using 100% the same physics hypothesis for the fluid -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 21 set 2010, 14:18 GMT-4

I am new in Comsol! I am working on Comsol/4.0.
I got convergence in that case. However, even for long total time and short time step, my result is somehow far from numerical result.
For example, I got CD (Drag coefficient) about 1.05, while in numerical report, it is given about 1.34.

This is my set up detail:
Domain : 30*d from each side
Cylinder diameter(d) = 0.2 m
Laminar inflow with average velocity= 1m/s
zero pressure no viscous outflow
Symmetry boundary condition on top and bottom walls.

Hopefully you are not using water properties, because that would make Re=200,000. You can upload your model so we can check.