Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Parallel plate capacitor 2D vs 3D issue

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm a beginner COMSOL user. I came across this problem while i'm doing some test simulations. I've simulated a parallel plate capacitor in both 3D and 2D. I wanted to see if I can extract the same results from the 3D if I use a cut plane. So I created a cut plane so the resultant would be similar to a 2D situation. However when I extract the electric field directions, they do not look even remotely close to the results from 2D simualtion. I've attached two images from two simulations. I'm using "Electrostatic (es)" in both cases and all the materials are same in both cases. I would be very grateful if anyone can point out what I'm doing wrong.

Thank You.

5 Replies Last Post 20 nov 2014, 11:23 GMT-5
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 years ago 19 nov 2014, 16:28 GMT-5
Hi,

something must be wrong with the arrow surface plot. If you upload the model (delete the solution if it is too big) we could have a look.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Hi, something must be wrong with the arrow surface plot. If you upload the model (delete the solution if it is too big) we could have a look. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser emPhys Physical Technology http://www.emphys.com

Posted: 10 years ago 19 nov 2014, 17:17 GMT-5
Thank you for your reply Edgar. Original file size was about 50MB and it did not change even I deleted the solution and mesh. Therefore I created another file similar to the original file. Please find it attached(3MB).